I’m gonna pull an easy one on this. For those who haven’t got their hands on these break compilations of the legendary, hugely popular, heavily overused and outright hated-on Ultimate Breaks and Beats series, here they are, in full glory.

To me, when my buddy got the first few copies of this series, listening to some of the best known sources of breaks was a revelation. Everybody and their gerbils were using these for a while (I remember Tuff Crew’s Back to Wreck Shop running wild with these). On the other hand, a lot of self-respecting cratediggers would never stoop so low as to put these on their platters. It’s like a bonafide fisherman going to the fish shop to buy some cod. But for anyone interested in sampling, especially in 80s and early 90s hip-hop, it’s a must to peep these once.

And before I go any further, let me just point you to some wonderful sites and summaries that others have made, so why should I rehash the stuff again?

The story behind the UBB series, plus tracklists for each record. (wikipedia)

Again, a clickable listing of all issues, with tracklists.

DJ Prince’s click-the-cover tracklisting.
(I stole the pix below from this dude so nuff respect to him.)

.

One and two

Three and four

Five and six

Seven

Eight and nine

Ten, eleven and twelve

Thirteen and fourteen

Fifteen and sixteen

Seventeen and eighteen

Nineteen and twenny

Twenty-one and twenty-two

Twenty-three and twenty-four

And finally: Twenty-five

Enjoy,

9@home

P.S. Coming up: The Dusty Fingers compilation (15 issues)